Motherhood

Life is an unpredictable adventure. It is kind of like a rollercoaster ride. You have highs, you have lows, you have twist, you have turns,  and life can certainly throw you for a loop.

Motherhood was not what I expected. It is a lot harder than I thought it would be. It has been an amazing adventure that has brought out the best and the worst in me.

Thirteen years ago in August I found out I was expecting. I was so excited. I was scared. I was thankful. I was happy that God has answered our prayers.  This was the beginning of my journey in Motherhood.  I had no idea of the road that was before me.

Being a mom has changed my whole life. Just the weight of the job is humbling. The child that was growing inside of me had an eternal soul. Each child needs to be pointed to Christ. I need to live my life in such a way that I am not a stumbling block to them. Motherhood, being a mom is more than what I do, it is who I am.  I do not take motherhood lightly, I know what a blessing it is and I know the significance of my role.

You might ask if I have it all together, if I am a great mother? I must confess that I have to apologize to my children often. I fail everyday. I get up the next day and point them to Christ. You see, He never fails. I get back on that horse every morning. I fall and get back on, way to many times to count I might add. I am a sinner and I am not perfect. I have made many mistakes in my journey as a mom. I try to learn from them and I try to grow from them.

Motherhood is an adventure and I have learned so much from my children. All 6 of them are so different.  They make me laugh. They say the funniest things. Children are brutally honest. They look at life through a different lens. Their faith is unshakable. They live life to the fullest every day.  Everyday is an adventure. Their imagination has no end. My children have taught me to embrace each day, and embrace the adventure ahead.

From the moment I found out I was pregnant I was in love, each and every pregnancy. Each one of my children stole my heart way before I even got to hold them. Through the good times and the bad, through every adventure we take I count my blessings to be their Mother.

-Pamela Henry

 

 

Leave a Reply

