5 Minute Pickup

What is a five minute pickup?  Good question…..

Well five minute pickup is just that. Pickup as much as you can in a five minute time period.

  1. Your start by setting a timer.
  2. Get 2 to 3 baskets and a trash bag, you can use as many baskets as you need
  3. Get your children involved
  4. Pick an area you need cleaned up
  5. Give each child a Walmart bag

Once you picked your area. Get your baskets set up: one for clothes, one for toys, and you can put anything else in the third basket.  Have your trash can by the baskets. We like to use our extra trash bag for recycling.  The children can use their Walmart bags as a trash or recycling bag too.  Get your children excited about helping. You can give a prize or have a special treat. I like to make it a race to see who can pick up the most stuff, me or the children. Set that timer and then get to work.

You will be amazed how quickly your children will move to pick up stuff off of the floor just so the kiddos can beat you. This method isn’t about getting your room spotless, it is about cleaning up. I like to do this throughout the day so we can keep a handle on the messes.  Because my house can get messy and dirty throughout the day. This helps me keep my sanity, because I am a bit of a neat freak.

I will post some more this week on a few of my cleaning tips.  Not that I am a expert but I do have to clean a lot…..

-Pamela Henry

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

