I Am Not Enough

I am not one of those “It takes a village” parents.  I also do not think I can do this journey of parenthood alone.  I am so thankful for my husband, Brian.  He is such a great husband and an even better father.  But the truth still stands that even on our good days as parents we still fall short.

God did give those wonderful children to Brian and I.  He did entrust them to us.  I am so honored that He did so, and not a day goes by that I am not thankful for our children.  God entrusted me with their hearts, minds, and their lives.  That my friend is not only a huge blessing, it is also a huge responsibility.  A responsibility that I do not take lightly.

You may ask, “What do you mean by you are not enough?”  Well, I mean without God and his strength I can not be the mother I need to be for my children.  I can not tend to their hearts like I need to without God. I can not teach my children what they need to learn without God. I can not effectively tend to the everyday tasks of life with children without God.  I am not enough with out God.  Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

I do not have enough patience. I am not a very patient person. I tend to run out of patience by lunch time. I am really working on this.  I know that I have to approach my children with the same grace and patience that God extends to me each day. I need to let God’s grace flow through me and extend it to everyone around me. When I get to the little Knot in my rope, I need to let go and let God work through me.  Clinging to the rope even tighter and trying  to make it in my own strength and power just makes me even more frustrated and does nothing good for me or my children.  In my weakest moments I am my strongest because that is when I see my need for God and He strengthens me.

I do not have enough grace.  Each morning when I wake up God gives me new grace for today.  He extends his grace to me. I have all the grace I need because God has a never ending supply of grace.  So why do I not have enough grace at times?  Well, it is because I do not go to God for His grace.  I do not go to Him  and ask for grace when my children need it the most from me.  Sometimes I let my Well of Grace run dry, and I do not go to God to fill it back up.  As a mother we need to extend grace to our children.  We need to keep our Well of Grace full and let God flow His grace through us.  Our children are constantly learning.  They are children, not adults. They are going to need grace as they are learning all about life.  We need to be teaching them all about God’s grace but more importantly we need to be giving them God’s grace everyday.

I do not have enough mercy.  There is a difference between letting your children get away with everything and extending mercy to them.  This is an area that I really am still learning in.  I do not have it all figured out.  My best example is Christ.  He extends mercy to me everyday.  Yet, I still have consequences to my actions, good or bad.  I know that I should be and that I want to be more merciful to my children.  The thing is I expect my children to be more gracious and merciful towards each other. Yet at times I do not lead by example.  I know that without Christ I can not extend mercy the way I need to.

I do not have enough time.  There is always more work to do than hours in a day.  I have to prioritize.  Working moms, stay at home moms, and work at home moms all have to prioritize.  We all have more work than time.  so, we need to be kinder and more understanding to each other.  A schedule that works for your family may not work for someone else’s family.   The one thing that we all need in at the top of our schedule is time alone with God.  Ladies if we are going to be fully equipped for our day, If we are going to try to have the right priorities for the day, if we are going to make the time we have count, then we need God leading our steps and we need time alone with Him.

I do not always have the right priorities.  Yep, I said it. I do not always have the right priorities. Sometimes I focus on nonessential things that are not really that important in the grand scheme of things.  Sometimes my focus is off.  Whenever I take my eyes off of God my focus is off and my priorities are off.  When this happens my parenting is off too.  When my parenting is off, my priorities are off, my focus is off everything becomes more chaotic around the house. That is when I start to feel less gracious, less merciful, and run out of patience and I get to the end of my rope. That is when I start to feel like I am loosing my grip on everything, so I cling even tighter. Do you see the downward spiral?  Yep, this is what happens when I do not keep God first.

So, when I say I am not enough. I am not saying I am not equipped to be a mother. I am not saying I can not do this.  I am not saying I should of not had all my children.  What I am saying is I need Christ.  I need Him to work in me and through me.  I am saying in Christ I have all I need to be the mother I need to be.  Philippians 4:13  “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

-Pamela Henry

 

 

Leave a Reply

