Recommitting To Motherhood

Motherhood is messy.  Motherhood is sleepless nights.  Motherhood is getting your hands dirty.  Motherhood doesn’t take sick days.  Motherhood is amazing. Motherhood is like nothing else.

So like many people I had preconceived notions of what my children would be like and how I would be the almost perfect mom.  I pictured sweet, quiet children sitting at my feet as I read.  Children that never argued or raised their voice.  I pictured sweet. loving, and always kind children.  The problem with the picture I painted in my head was I was picturing perfect children.

I never would have believed that motherhood brought out the best and the worst in me, but it does.   I am still learning a lot about myself as a mother.  I am learning to recognize my strengths and my weaknesses. I am learning how to connect with each one of my children.  I am learning that my children are always changing, physically, emotionally, and spiritually.  I am learning to be more gracious, and to extend more mercy and grace.  I am learning of my need for more grace and how to accept it.

Everyday you wake up and you recommit yourself to motherhood.  You make a conscious decision to be aware of your actions, your attitude, your temperament, and your outlook. You make a commitment to be the mother your children need you to be.  You commit yourself to the household duties from reading to the little ones to cleaning up another mess.

Recommitting  my heart to be a servant.  Motherhood is about serving.  You have to have the right attitude to be a servant in your home.  I know for a fact that I do not always have a servant’s heart.  I know that my attitude towards dishes and laundry is not always a good one.  So I know that I have to recommit myself daily to keeping my attitude and my heart right.  I know that I have to recommit daily to having a Servant’s Heart.

Most important thing to me is recommitting my walk with God.  Without the presence of God in my daily life I am not the mother, wife, or person I need to be.  Everyday  I have to make a conscious decision to take time to read my Bible and pray.  I need to make a conscious decision to listen to music that is uplifting, praising God, and draws me closer to Him.   I have to make a commitment to my spiritual health daily so I can be the Mother I need to be.

Recommit to Motherhood

-Pamela Henry

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

